IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Minimizing ET turns my screen bright
Topcat
post May 10 2018, 11:50 PM
Post #1


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



Every time I use alt+enter to go from game and out to windows (win 7) my screeen becomes a lot brighter, only if I close and exit the game the normal way the colors will be correct. It looks the same way as when ET crashes it also makes my screen much brighter. I sometimes like to go out of the game to use windows / internet without closing the game and just have it running in the background, but this higher screen brightness is annoying. It might be something the game does to the gamma settings.

If anyone knows a way to fix so it doesnt do this please let me know.

This post has been edited by Topcat: May 10 2018, 11:51 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
$mart
post May 11 2018, 07:54 AM
Post #2


Group Icon Major

Group: Members

Joined: 19-September 07
From: South of France xDDDDD
Member No.: 59683



Hello

You should try this with "ET Legacy" client, or with classic 2.6 client on servers with "n!tmod" or "silEnT" mods (don't know others) :

- open your console with ² and affect a key to minimize in-game (not in intermission)
CODE
/bind KP_MINUS minimize
(it's the minus-sign on right numeric pad)

You could also install a "real" minimizer xD who works for many other games ( and has an option for gamma, your bright pb):

http://www.idcation.com/projects/17/minimizor_20
- in my case it doesn't work anymore because my Windows is now 64bits (I think)

Tell us the result man !
V55

This post has been edited by $mart: May 11 2018, 07:55 AM


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topcat
post May 11 2018, 01:56 PM
Post #3


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



QUOTE ($mart @ May 11 2018, 08:54 AM) *
Hello

You should try this with "ET Legacy" client, or with classic 2.6 client on servers with "n!tmod" or "silEnT" mods (don't know others) :

- open your console with ² and affect a key to minimize in-game (not in intermission)
CODE
/bind KP_MINUS minimize
(it's the minus-sign on right numeric pad)

You could also install a "real" minimizer xD who works for many other games ( and has an option for gamma, your bright pb):

http://www.idcation.com/projects/17/minimizor_20
- in my case it doesn't work anymore because my Windows is now 64bits (I think)

Tell us the result man !
V55



I have windows 64 bit also and I tried some of the minimizer progs and none of them really worked for me. I think I am using 2.6b will the bind code work for this version also ?

I tried the bind but didnt work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
$mart
post May 11 2018, 02:04 PM
Post #4


Group Icon Major

Group: Members

Joined: 19-September 07
From: South of France xDDDDD
Member No.: 59683



Try on my server it works, see signature


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wolf Enstein
post May 11 2018, 04:35 PM
Post #5


Group Icon General of the Army

Group: Management

Joined: 5-August 05
From: Scotland
Member No.: 12398



Try this version, Topcat, if you're still experiencing any problems. It's the best one that I've ever used coffeenews.gif :


RtCW/Wolf: ET Game Minimiser


It works for "RtCW MP/SP" and also for "Wolf: ET". To minimize the game, press "Control-Z" and to restore the game to fullscreen, press "Shift-Control-Z" sign_fixed.gif .


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topcat
post May 11 2018, 04:44 PM
Post #6


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



QUOTE (Wolf Enstein @ May 11 2018, 05:35 PM) *
Try this version, Topcat, if you're still experiencing any problems. It's the best one that I've ever used coffeenews.gif :


RtCW/Wolf: ET Game Minimiser


It works for "RtCW MP/SP" and also for "Wolf: ET". To minimize the game, press "Control-Z" and to restore the game to fullscreen, press "Shift-Control-Z" sign_fixed.gif .


I think I tried this one already but didnt work, thx for the tip though. But another thing if it worked would it help to fix the brightness? I dont mind doing the alt+enter to go from game out to windows, it's just the higher screen brightness that comes with it I don't like.

This post has been edited by Topcat: May 11 2018, 04:45 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wolf Enstein
post May 11 2018, 05:54 PM
Post #7


Group Icon General of the Army

Group: Management

Joined: 5-August 05
From: Scotland
Member No.: 12398



QUOTE (Topcat @ May 11 2018, 05:44 PM) *
I think I tried this one already but didnt work, thx for the tip though.


You're welcome, amigo, I'm sorry that the software doesn't seem to work for you.


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HarryHomers
post May 11 2018, 08:12 PM
Post #8


Group Icon Corporal

Group: Members

Joined: 25-July 06
From: Cornwall, UK
Member No.: 30648



QUOTE (Topcat @ May 11 2018, 05:44 PM) *
I think I tried this one already but didnt work, thx for the tip though.

just drop the two files in your etmain folder, edit the gamma.cfg to the key that suits you, it set to j at the moment.
to use it just push your set key and your screen alters light and dark as required

Mike.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  autoexec.zip ( 382bytes ) Number of downloads: 5
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topcat
post May 12 2018, 01:52 PM
Post #9


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



QUOTE (HarryHomers @ May 11 2018, 09:12 PM) *
QUOTE (Topcat @ May 11 2018, 05:44 PM) *
I think I tried this one already but didnt work, thx for the tip though.

just drop the two files in your etmain folder, edit the gamma.cfg to the key that suits you, it set to j at the moment.
to use it just push your set key and your screen alters light and dark as required

Mike.


So I press that key before I use alt+enter to exit to windows and then the gamma will be normal? And after pressing alt+enter to go back to game I press this key again to bring the games gamma back ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
N3rwitZ
post May 12 2018, 04:31 PM
Post #10


Group Icon Staff Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 6-July 14
From: Goldrush
Member No.: 438751



May I suggest ET Minimizer Pro, that I've used for a decade and counting; not much hassle of a program anyway, also having option to reset your brightness levels to defaults. Handy app, download Anthales' updated version tho - here's Johnny


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HarryHomers
post May 12 2018, 11:04 PM
Post #11


Group Icon Corporal

Group: Members

Joined: 25-July 06
From: Cornwall, UK
Member No.: 30648



QUOTE (Topcat @ May 12 2018, 01:52 PM) *
So I press that key before I use alt+enter to exit to windows and then the gamma will be normal? And after pressing alt+enter to go back to game I press this key again to bring the games gamma back ?
In game press it and the screen dims or brightens, swich to windows, use as normal, switch back to the game and press again to dim or brighten.
I also use MinimizorInstallV2.0 to do the switching but still use the key to change the gamma when it goes wrong, its no hardship having it available for use as required.

Cheers.

Mike.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  MinimizorInstallV2.0.exe ( 646.35K ) Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topcat
post May 13 2018, 08:29 PM
Post #12


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



QUOTE (N3rwitZ @ May 12 2018, 05:31 PM) *
May I suggest ET Minimizer Pro, that I've used for a decade and counting; not much hassle of a program anyway, also having option to reset your brightness levels to defaults. Handy app, download Anthales' updated version tho - here's Johnny


Thx gonna try this one, and yes the readme file says it saves the gamma settings so screen will look normal when you minimize so thats good, will check later and see if it works for me.

This post has been edited by Topcat: May 13 2018, 08:29 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topcat
post May 13 2018, 08:52 PM
Post #13


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



One last question where should I put the files, in etmain or ?

This post has been edited by Topcat: May 13 2018, 08:53 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topcat
post May 14 2018, 12:58 AM
Post #14


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



Dunno if the files were placed in the right folder but it didnt minimize when I was pressing alt+x it only lowered the gamma, then when I used my old way with alt+enter to enter out to windows the gamme was to bright again, then I right clicked the icon in tray and selected the restore gamma and the brightness was back to normal, so at leaat I can do this now so thats great :)

Just a shame it wouldnt minimize, I am on win 7 64 bit so it should work. I always have to drag the et window away out to one of the sides to see the screen because it doesnt minimize it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topcat
post May 14 2018, 05:06 PM
Post #15


Group Icon Sergeant

Group: Members

Joined: 27-February 15
Member No.: 460071



Edit

This post has been edited by Topcat: May 14 2018, 05:08 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd May 2018 - 06:45 PM