IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> TOOLTIME: Punkbuster Lagfix, TOOLS
Sonyfan
post Jan 10 2007, 06:31 PM
Post #1


Group Icon Support & Assistant_Chief_Translator

Group: Management

Joined: 4-August 05
From: Munich / Bavaria / Germany
Member No.: 12333



Workaround for the punkbuster-freezes and slow-downs in the game.

Delete the complete pb-folder, create a new pb-folder, copy pbsetup.exe in the pb-folder and start update.
Create now in the pb-folder a file with the name "pbcl.cfg" and copy the following text in this file. (or download it)

ZITAT
pb_sleep 500
pb_security 0


Download PB-Fix

ZITAT
PB_Security [0=no, 1=yes]
When set to 0, PunkBuster will accept all "update" files without verifying that they are authentic; the default is 1 which should not normally be changed except for LAN environments where there is no Internet Access and/or you fully trust the Servers you are connecting to
PB_Sleep [Period]
Holds the period of time (milliseconds) that PunkBuster "sleeps" between processing cycles; the default is 60; lower numbers will cause PunkBuster to process events more times each second which also has the effect of increasing the bandwidth used by PunkBuster; Players with a modem connection will probably want to set this as high as possible


Greetz Sonyfan!:-)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nlPure
post Jan 10 2007, 08:05 PM
Post #2


Group Icon Private 1st Class

Group: Members

Joined: 27-December 06
Member No.: 41605



You actually don't have to create an a new pb-folder. The program will do that for you.

QUOTE
copy pbsetup.exe in the pb-folder and start update


I advice against this. Better create a new folder anywhere you like and place pbsetup.exe in it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sonyfan
post Jan 10 2007, 08:09 PM
Post #3


Group Icon Support & Assistant_Chief_Translator

Group: Management

Joined: 4-August 05
From: Munich / Bavaria / Germany
Member No.: 12333



ZITAT
Delete the complete pb-folder, create a new pb-folder, copy pbsetup.exe in the pb-folder and start update.


rolleye.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HedCrash
post Jan 11 2007, 10:33 AM
Post #4


Group Icon Corporal

Group: Members

Joined: 13-February 05
Member No.: 4301



wellwellwell... evenbalance told me the same. nothing worked :P
right now i run et+pb without that config and it was stable yesterday for a lot of maps until i disconnected normally. there were no short hangups on startup, nothing. i guess, eb made a "silent update" or anything else gruebel.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sonyfan
post Jan 11 2007, 10:42 AM
Post #5


Group Icon Support & Assistant_Chief_Translator

Group: Management

Joined: 4-August 05
From: Munich / Bavaria / Germany
Member No.: 12333



Have you all these checked? gruebel.gif PB-Lags/Freeze have more different solutions! rolleye.gif PB-Lagfix is a one from different ways. zwink.gif

http://forum.splatterladder.com/index.php?...ost&p=27677


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HedCrash
post Jan 11 2007, 11:07 AM
Post #6


Group Icon Corporal

Group: Members

Joined: 13-February 05
Member No.: 4301



yes mate, i did everything i could do and what i have found on the net... nothing worked. even the EB guy who replied to my ticket wasnt able and told me things i already knew sadd.gif
i figured out, that pb always killed my sata devices which runs into blue screens with statuscodes u even wont find on msdn :-/ but there are no hw conflicts...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NHLfan
post Jan 11 2007, 12:05 PM
Post #7


Group Icon General of the Army

Group: Members

Joined: 8-August 04
From: Vienna, AT
Member No.: 366



Blue Screens?
Are you sure those came from punkbuster?
That doesn't sound like a punkbuster problem for me


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HedCrash
post Jan 11 2007, 04:26 PM
Post #8


Group Icon Corporal

Group: Members

Joined: 13-February 05
Member No.: 4301



i'm definately sure that pb caused these bluescreens. it always and only happened when i played et with pb running on the server. pb initiates the sata device remove so there are no harddrives attached to the operating system and it gets busted. trust me, only pb cause. zwinker2.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nlPure
post Jan 14 2007, 12:26 AM
Post #9


Group Icon Private 1st Class

Group: Members

Joined: 27-December 06
Member No.: 41605



Maybe I am reading it differently, still...

QUOTE
Delete the complete pb-folder

meaning deleting the 'pb' folder located in the Wolfenstien folder. Default C:\Program Files\Enemy - Territory\pb

QUOTE
create a new pb-folder

so make a new folder called 'pb'... but the program will do that itself. So not necessary.

QUOTE
copy pbsetup.exe in the pb-folder and start update.

This is where I say better make a new folder for pbsetup.exe to run in. Why?

Because PBSETUP will use various files that it will create and use during operation. You don't want those files in your 'pb' directory.

Evenbalance even says you should do it like that:
http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php

QUOTE
For best results, users should create a folder on the hard drive to hold PBSetup and the various files that it will create and use during operation. PBSetup should be downloaded directly into the folder or moved into the folder after downloading to the desktop but before running PBSetup for the first time. The easiest way to create a folder is to "right click" on the desktop and choose New|Folder from the pop-up menu and then type in a folder name such as PBSetup and press the Enter key.

But yes, from experience with other users I know punkbuster and there computers just don't work together well. Lockups and errors and that sort of thing with no way of fixing it until a new patch or update comes around.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HedCrash
post Jan 14 2007, 10:27 AM
Post #10


Group Icon Corporal

Group: Members

Joined: 13-February 05
Member No.: 4301



QUOTE(nlPure @ Jan 14 2007, 12:26 AM) [snapback]34227[/snapback]

...
But yes, from experience with other users I know punkbuster and there computers just don't work together well. Lockups and errors and that sort of thing with no way of fixing it until a new patch or update comes around.


agreed, and it doesnt matter if youre owning new state of the art hardware or hardware which runs for ages -> indicates sleazy developement from pb team sadd.gif (clean system installation assumed zwinker2.gif )
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
*saYa*
post Feb 12 2008, 05:35 PM
Post #11


Private

Group: Members

Joined: 10-February 08
From: Norway
Member No.: 67191



Didn't work for me, but I have a very good line so I don't care ^^
Struggle for your self, or buy a higher bandwidth.
OR ignore the error restart and start play until it kicks of agian. NVM it! xD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd January 2018 - 02:56 AM